Tags

,

Do you guys have that friend? The one who you do and buy everything she says because she just knows the best stuff? I do, and she has struck again. Sometimes I almost feel like I should talk to her less because it would be so much cheaper but I can’t even help myself because the things she introduces me to are so great. So far she has been responsible for getting me hooked on:

• Bikram Yoga

• The Fitnessista

•Downton Abbey

•Jillian Michaels workout DVD’s

• Free hulu plus

• some many things that are too embarrassing to say or have forgotten at the moment

AND NOW

LUSH. So, after she told me about them not 24 hours later I was at the REAL STORE not even online, spending a small fortune on things I’m pretty sure I haven’t owned since I was about 12.

IMG_0513

This is what was described as “a new face.” We shall see, it is so fresh it has to stay in the fridge!

IMG_0512

Lots of samples…

IMG_0511  Solid perfume.

IMG_0510

Big ticket items (with the exception of the one item my HUSBAND requested these were the most expensive). The one on the right is like a face highlighter? I didn’t even know I needed this but now I don’t want to live without it.

IMG_0509

The bath bombs Lush is famous for.

IMG_0514

And the bag! Lush had lots of great vegan options.

I NEEDED all of these beauty products since I have been skimping on beauty sleep. Finals are in full swing (sorry for the delayed blogging), and I made some pretty poor decisions last week. Namely, to start making jalapeno stirred curd cheddar at like 6:00 pm. I had made it a few days before and it took about 8 hours so I have no idea why I thought I could make this in half the time. The result was several alarms set throughout the night to go deal with my cheese.

IMG_0505

The one on the left is the traditional cheddar developing a rind pretty well. The jalapeno cheese is a little softer (because I was half-asleep for most of the steps) so it cracked a little. During the waxing process I made sure to put a lot of wax in the cracks so there would not be air pockets to develop mold. I also made some of the ugliest cheese I have ever made (of course) to bring to a party (or rather three parties since I split the batch).

IMG_0515

LOL. This was a lemon cheese with herbs and its tastes okay but wow is it ugly. Things always happen to me when I’m making food for other people!

IMG_0503

I also continued my quest for the perfect homemade veggie burger with these beet burgers. While they LOOK a lot like real burgers I’m not sure we’re quite there yet. I will post the recipe when I find the perfect one.

I also tried Healthy Tipping Point’s Cast Iron Tofu. This was really good. Not quite as good as my usual long roasting technique but significantly more expedient.

IMG_0516

This is going in salads for lunches.

For other lunches a friend’s lightened up potato salad- maybe she will share the recipe in the comments?

IMG_0517

Curried Roasted Cauliflower (florets tossed in olive oil, salt, pepper, cumin, and curry to be served with a little cilantro).

IMG_0520

And finally, magic.

IMG_0519

This picture looks SUPER ugly but actually it looked really beautiful when I was making it. There are Sew Like My Mom’s Lotion Bars. Minus the beeswax of course, and plus some essential oil (sweet orange) and some of the body powder I got at Lush. They are re-solidifying in the fridge right now so I will let you know how it turns out.

Ok, now time to curl up with my new book A Book About Bees for some inspiration.

