Tags

, ,

I am not afraid to admit on the internet that I haven’t taken a shower since before Thanksgiving. John and I have been engaging in something known as the low shower (and other much more unsavory names) for the entire holiday season. It was a big project to start with and a certain color changing tile company (ahem, Moving Color Tiles) took awhile to ship. However, its finally done! My new relaxing bathroom:

IMG_0890

IMG_0891 IMG_0892 IMG_0893 IMG_0895 IMG_0897

I know what you’re thinking, wouldn’t it be cool if those purple tiles changed color? We thought so too, until it turned out they were only coated with a film of color change strip that came off as soon as they were grouted in. Other than that minor snafu, we are delighted with how it came out. Even more, we are delighted to be showering on the reg again!

Other things we have been up to:

IMG_0910

http://www.edibleperspective.com/home/2013/1/4/kale-frittata-with-millet-crust.html  Millet Kale Frittata (more of a quiche in our case, what exactly is the difference?)

I had been craving the butternut squash/kale risotto from local so much we went back only to be told they had changed the menu so I had to make up my own recipe:

IMG_0911

Recipe:

12 oz. Arborio rice (cook as per instructions)

Earth Balance

1 butternut squash

1 bunch Kale

Vegetable Broth

While cooking rice peel and roast 1 butternut squash. Once tender blend with some broth until pureed. Once the rice is done, add the squash puree. Remove from heat and add roughly chopped kale, salt, and pepper to taste.

The kale is really critical or else this tastes like dessert.

Not every recipe turned out so well this weekend. I rushed some provolone and something happened so it wouldn’t stretch. I followed the instructions as closely as I cool and ended up with what seems like a firm brined mozzerella. We tried to name it but all proposed combinations of our names and types of cheeses sound disgusting. The mold has not taken on the camenbert as well so I guess I will be trying that again soon as well with some minor changes. I am giving myself next week off from cheesemaking (the first since December 1) to try to simplify since this semester is turning out to be more work than I anticipated. I tried to brainstorm some ways to simplify including purchase instead of making cereal, snacks, and lunches, or cutting out juicing but then I realized I don’t want to. I just need a little time to recharge so it seems fun instead of like a chore.

IMG_0913

I got this idea from pinterest to fill Airwicks with essential oils so my house would stop smelling like goldendoodle. However, it was a little pricey and super annoying to do. Popping off the cap turned out to be harder than I expected. I am sure this is some sort of fire hazard as well.

I guess I will just have to live with the smell of this for a while longer:

 

IMG_0902

