Sorry for the sporadic posting, John and I just got back from Colorado for a family tradition “Cousin’s [ski] Weekend.” I gave my cousins some of the maple butter and she sweetly texted me that her son liked it so much he said he would add it to the menu of the restaurant he plans to have someday. This made me remember how my little brother used to have an imaginary restaurant called “Henry’s Perch Palace” the slogan of which was “You can have anything you want at Henry’s Restaurant!” I am sure he is currently thinking of his own blog where he can tell humiliating stories about me on the internet.

Anyway, I have found the recipe I want to put on the menu at his restaurant (yes I guess in my wildest dreams I work at my brother’s restaurant? Dream big). It consists of this braised cabbage with as a side to the main course of eggs in a nest. Loosely based on Barbara Kingsolver’s Egg’s in a Nest I use:

-3 cups of any kind of grain. I have used rice, bulger, quinoa, and millet successfully.

-6 eggs or so

-some greens (I have used kale, chard, and collards).

-olive oil

– salt and pepper

-sage cheddar (or if you haven’t been planning to make this recipe for 3 months in advance you can use any cheese or non at all).

Cook the grain fully. Put it in an oven safe casserole dish. Mix it up with some olive oil, cheese, salt, and pepper to taste. Cover and mostly fill the dish with your greens. Drizzle with olive oil. Put in the oven covered at 350 for about 15 minutes or until the greens are wilted slightly. While this is going poach 6 eggs separately. Pull the casserole out of the oven and make an indentation with the back of your spoon in the shape of a clock going all around the dish. Place one poached egg in each indentation. Cook for another 15 minutes. Serve in your restaurant with a side of braised cabbage.

As you may have guessed, we broke out the sage cheese.

IMG_1057

I felt like I had been making so many cheese but now that its time to eat them I feel like I have only made a few! The first two (cheddar and jalapeno cheddar) were not my favorite. They tasted a little sour even when I first opened them. The truffle cheese though was amazing, and the sage cheese is a close second. When it started aging it was so purple remember? Now it seems to be completely green. I think the key is to pay careful attention to how long I let the cheese develop a rind before waxing them.

I am also making a new cheese today: Derby cheese. Next time (not next week though) will be Leicester cheese (I assume pronounced Lester). Both cheese are very closely related to cheddar. Derby cheese is ripened and rennetted at a lower temperature (84 degrees) so it retains more moisture.  The result is a much softer break and a shocking amount of curds to start:

IMG_1060

IMG_1062

I think my cheese making is getting better, or at least prettier?

IMG_1063

And so is my quiche making:

IMG_1059

Nope, just kidding. This beautiful sage cheese and bulger crusted quiche was all John. I have yet to avoid overfilling the crust to the point it spills over and burns up in the oven. He has been promoted to quich-ier extraordinaire.

John is in the garage putting the finishing touches on the chicken coop since due to some exciting connections it seems the ladies might be joining us sooner then later. What do you think of the names Lady Mary, Lady Sybil, and Lady Edith?

I was also very jealous of all my cousin’s indoor plants and access to fresh herbs year round which is how my dining room table came to look like this:

IMG_1024

Between this

IMG_1058 the chickens, and the first day of bee school tomorrow it really feels like spring is here except for the snow…

