Tags

, ,

 

Happy St. Patrick’s Day weekend. This potato thinks its Valentine’s Day.

IMG_1104

Go home potato you’re drunk! As my friends know, I have been trying to use this joke for about 3 months so I was jumping up and down excited when I cut this potato. Then my immediate thought was “Oh, a heart shaped potato! I should use this to make a stamp! And stamp….things.” Thats right, my brain officially IS pinterest now. Welcome to the matrix.

Later I made this:

IMG_1106

My riff on Caitlin HTP’s mexican quiche. This is crustless mexican quiche. To make:

-7 eggs

-1/2 tube of Trader Joe’s soy chorizo

-1 teaspoon salt

-2 tablespoons cumin

-1/2 onion chopped

-2 cloves garlic

-3 oz jalapeno cheddar

– As much spinach as you can fit

Bake at 250 for 35 minutes.

 

I subscribe to audible.com so I have a book credit every month to listen to while I am in the car. This month I raced through “Inside of a Dog” (this book is much more science heavy than I was expecting) in under two weeks. Mazy heard me listening to it and decided to throw caution to the wind, YOLO. It was not enough for her to be inside of just any old dog, she wanted to be INSIDE OF A RANDOM GERMAN SHEPARD’S MOUTH. After her experiment (unclear what she learned) We got her cleaned up and I doubt she will be poking her snout through any random dog’s fences any time soon.

I was sad to have to wait a full 2.5 weeks for my next download so I went ahead and bought Salt, Sugar, Fat: How the Food Giants Hooked Us (it was on audible sale and featured on NPR). While I am not done with it yet I have learned so much. The author goes into excruciating detail about things like how lunchables were developed. I also learned that until the 1950s-1970s cheese was not really considered an ingredient so much as an appetizer, dessert, or snack. Due to concerns about the high fat content in milk women started choosing skim milk. The result was a surplus of milkfat, which the government has to cover. Eventually the feds had purchased a 5 year advanced supply of cheese before they said they would no longer protect dairy farmers in that way. Then marketing campaigns shifted the perception of cheese to something that a cook could put in other things. It seems to have worked and as proof I direct you to the existence of Philadelphia cooking cream. I am loving the book!

I was looking forward to spring so much that I bought a hammock and planned to plant this weekend. Unfortunately we are supposed to get snow so I think I will cast on a new knitting project. Have you planted for spring yet?

