Tags

,

I have been feeling not so excited about cheese making lately. The fight with the milk man, and some epic failures have contributed to me not feeling very excited about it lately. Also, soon I have to resign the lease with the milk man which is an expense I was not looking forward to even before the fight. However, I made myself do a status update and a plan and I am really feeling a lot better about the whole thing. It helps that both cheeses I made this week turned out great. First I had to refresh the starters which takes a lot of milk, so I made soft cheese instead of hard, which take up less milk.

1. Chenna. Chenna is a version of paneer that is kneaded until it is whipped up, then shallow fried.

photo (7)

 

I put salt, pepper, chiles, and paprika in mine then served it with Kanika’s favorite dal (proprietary name, but you can use it).

2. Ziegerkase. This is the last of the whey cheeses. (The hard and italian cheeses are all done as well!). The only information I have about it is that it originated in Germany. It is aged for a few weeks in a red wine mixture:

photo 1

Whey cheeses are cooked at very high temperatures so they often have a cooked taste. (This one cooks to 200 degrees). A cheater’s early taste though reveals that it actually tastes amazing (shocking, I like wine and cheese together). I think this might be my favorite whey cheese actually, and the yield was very good.

A lot of the cheeses left in the book are made with either cream or buttermilk, so expect to see a lot of those in the near future. Then, I just have to make it through the ripened cheeses which seem to be the most difficult as I have had little luck so far.

I don’t know how to easily transition into letting you guys know that I have officially made it.

photo 2 photo 3

 

Yes, I am now just blogging appliances, but I cannot explain how excited I am about this! Obviously I could never afford this new, but I have had a google alert on craigslist posting for vitamixes since 2008 and this is the cheapest I have ever seen one so I took the plunge. John was skeptical at first but came around when he realized that it possess the motor of a small car and is way easier to clean. I also found a small sticker on this container that says “Dry container.” The dry containers are very expensive online, while the wet containers are pretty cheap so I am happy about this mix up. However, I don’t know how to confirm this is the dry container. Am I hurting it by blending wet things in it? Please advise, vitamix experts.

I am also tempted to give this the kitchenaid treatment, but also its sparseness is part of the appeal. What do you think?

I hope your weekend is going well!

