I don’t have any photos for you in this post except for one, of my dog, blissfully playing with an onion like its the best present he ever got. photo (16)

Please note how the sunbeam LITERALLY MAKES HIM LOOK LIKE AN ANGEL. Since I assume everyone came to look at pictures of my dog and will now stop reading I will be a little self-indulgent going forward.

I first became aware of the one little word movement after reading The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin. I have chosen words more informally in the past and decided this year to really go for it.

My word and theme for 2014 is rebuild. I found it VERY difficult to choose my word. I toyed with a lot of other re- words like restore, revive, recovery. The problem with all of these words is that they imply bringing things back to life. There are a lot of things I have tried, let go of, and no longer want to feel tied to. Rebuild seems to more imply a freedom to take what I like, and build it up in the coming year.

Law school, and especially the bar, wore me out in a whole new way. I am still in awe when I get home from work and can choose what to do. For a while the choices were overwhelming and I couldn’t do anything at all. Now, I am starting to do more things, but am trying to consciously only add the things I really like doing.

In another sense, I am trying to rebuild financially in order to purchase more property next year. It is very difficult for me to be patient and not want everything right now. However, by taking this year to save and plan I am able to be more financially secure, make a better decision, and research things like location and soil testing.

I also contemplated words like gentle, slow, and softness. While these are what would be good words for the next few months, I don’t think they will last a whole year. I just need to rebuild the comfort I have being home and stress free so that I am recharged when it comes time for me to for me to challenge myself again.

I sort of panicked yesterday when I didn’t have a word yet and asked my friends. One suggested growth and I said I didn’t feel up to having growth as a primary goal this year, it was a rebuilding year (like the Wolverines, ahem). So, it turns out I already had my word, I just had conjugated it incorrectly.

With that, I hope you have a happy and safe New Years Ever, and I would love to hear your word if you are choosing one.

