See part one here:

Sunchoke: Very large native herb, running to form colonies. Produces sweet, nutty-flavored tubers, highly productive. Flowers attract beneficial insects. Cultivated by Native Americans for centuries.

Turkish Rocket: Robust, long-lived plant. Spreads by seed, roots will sprout when damaged. Beautiful yellow flowers, young broccolis are much like broccoli raab – nutty and mustardy.

Eva tells me this is what the british called arugula. This sounds a lot like another perennial arugula, which is good since it is a perennial favorite around here (see what I did there).

Welsh Onion: This perennial scallion forms clumps, which can be thinned for harvest once or twice a year. Mild flavor with just the right amount of oniony zing. Lovely flowers too!

I have been trying to win Anna Hess’s walking onions for two years now. Honestly I think if I didn’t win while I was studying for the bar and refreshing my blogs every 15 minutes, I need to face the facts and admit its never going to happen lol. I think these might be a good (and less invasive) replacement.

Wild Leek (Ramp): Native woodland wildflower, emerges in spring and then dies back for the summer. Leaves have a fantastic onion flavor and bulbs are strong like an onion-garlic mix. Great perennial vegetable for full shade. Popular vegetable for omelets, pastas – the sky’s the limit!

Chinese Yam: Large herbaceous vine with cinnamon-scented flowers in spring, glowing yellow leaves in fall. Produces a large edible tuber after a few years, plus annual harvest of chickpea-sized airial tubers on the vine. These “yamberries” are very good eating roasted with olive oil or boiled and served with butter and salt.

Paradise lot talks a lot about how the first year of their permaculture garden the annuals were taller than the perennials. I suspect this is likely to be true of my garden too, so I am hoping to stuff annuals in wherever I can without crowding these new plants.

I will put lots of greens, radishes, and peas in the back beds between March 15 and May 15, before these new plants arrive. By then hopefully I will be able to see what I have coming up in the front beds. Once it is too warm for the greens, I will rip them out and aspire to put some squash and tomatoes in the back beds in their place. Cucumbers and beans will take the place of the climbing peas. In the front I can put basil, cilantro, beets, carrots, and onions, and garlic (I dropped the ball this fall) wherever they will fit after the frost date (in Michigan May 15). Last year I tried amaranth for the first time and was favorably impressed for a front yard decorative edible.

I also hope to put potatoes in the easement, and have heard that sweet potato vines make great ground cover.

As I’m sure you can tell, spring can’t get here fast enough! Do you have any perennial favorites I’m leaving out?

