I am so excited to show you what we have been doing for the past three weeks! You remember when my kitchen used to look like this?

DSCF0060

Well, it doesn’t anymore.

IMG_0187

IMG_0188

IMG_0191 IMG_0192

This was one of the projects I had been really dreading because I thought it would end up really expensive. However, it actually ended up being pretty reasonable thanks to some craigslisting, re-storing (the act of going to the restore), and slate tile. Some of the most exciting changes:

-painting the cabinets. While I thought this would be a horrible job, it actually didnt take very long at all. I took the doors off and spray painted them in the garage while John rollered the drawer fronts and remaining frames. Now I am starting to think maybe they need pulls?

-the open shelves. While we replaced cabinets with open shelves, we kept most of the cabinets resulting in a net gain of kitchen storage. The shelves are reclaimed cedar that we found on craigslist for about $100. Yes, the storage has to be pretty now, but so far that has been ok. I just need to remind myself that I don’t have to display ALL of my pretty dishes. The shelves also mean we have enough cabinet space to put in a dishwasher.

– The countertops. I found pretty countertops to be super expensive. We followed this tutorial, and it worked really well. Also they came in at $100.00 after a quick trip to the restore, and you really can’t tell they were ever doors.

John thought it was SUPER FUN when I went out and bought paint for the bedroom before the paint on the cabinets was dry. Looking forward to showing off how that turned out….but more than that I am looking forward to being able to blog about my garden again. Last year I had plants growing outside by this time.

My sister in law linked me to this online permaculture course and I am so excited to get started tonight, will let you know how it is.

